Is almond milk gluten-free?

The vast majority of unflavoured almond milk produced by commercial brands is gluten-free. Most flavoured almond milk will also be gluten-free, but it is important to read ingredient and nutrition labels before making a purchase.

What is almond milk?

Almond milk looks a lot like regular dairy milk, but tastes quite different. It is consumed as an alternative to cow’s milk, being poured over cereal, used as an ingredient in smoothies and added to various recipes. The high fat content of almonds is what gives almond milk a creamy consistency, much like that of ordinary milk.

Almond milk can be made in the comfort of your own home. The process is quite straightforward; all you have to do is combine some almonds and water in a blender and blend them together for a minute or so. When you strain the resulting mixture, you have almond milk.

Commercial brands follow a similar procedure (on a much larger scale of course), and usually add in vitamins and preservatives in the process.

Popular brands

We have compiled a list of some of the most popular brands of almond milk (together with information on their gluten content) below.

Silk Original Unsweetened Almondmilk

Ingredients: Almondmilk (Filtered Water, Almonds), Vitamin and Mineral Blend (Calcium Carbonate, Vitamin E Acetate, Vitamin A Palmitate, Vitamin D2), Sea Salt, Natural Flavor, Sunflower Lecithin, Locust Bean Gum, Gellan Gum

Gluten-free: Yes

Comments: In the allergies section of the silk.com FAQ’s page, Silk states that all of their products are gluten free and are suitable for people with gluten allergies. They have protocols in place to detect and prevent gluten contamination.

Almond Breeze Original Almondmilk

Ingredients: Almondmilk (Filtered Water, Almonds), Cane Sugar, Calcium Carbonate, Sea Salt, Potassium Citrate, Sunflower Lecithin, Gellan Gum, Vitamin A Palmitate, Vitamin D2, D-Alpha-Tocopherol (Natural Vitamin E)

Gluten-free: Yes

Comments: On the Allergen Information page on almondbreeze.com, Almond Breeze states that all of their products are gluten and wheat free.

Alpro Almond Original

Ingredients: Water, Sugar, Almond (2%), Calcium (tri-calcium phosphate), Sea salt, Stabilisers (Locust bean gum, Gellan gum), Emulsifier (Sunflower lecithin), Vitamins (Riboflavin (B2), B12, E, D2)

Gluten-free: Yes

Comments: On this page on alpro.com, Alpro mention that besides their Oat drink, their products are gluten and wheat free.

DREAM Ultimate Almond Original Almond Beverage

Ingredients: Almond Base (Filtered Water, Almonds), Evaporated Cane Syrup, Sea Salt, Sunflower Lecithin, Gellan Gum, Xanthan Gum

Gluten-free: Yes

Comments: DREAM state that their beverages are gluten-free on this page.

Pacific Organic Almond Original

Ingredients: Almond Base (Water, Almonds), Dried Cane Syrup, Potassium Citrate, Sea Salt, Carrageenan, Vitamin D2, Riboflavin (B2), Vitamin A Palmitate

Gluten-free: Yes

Comments: This page on pacificfoods.com shows that the product is gluten-free.

Rude Health Almond Drink

Ingredients: Natural Spring Water, Organic Rice (14%), Organic Italian Almonds (1%), Organic Cold-Pressed Sunflower Oil, Sea Salt

Gluten-free: Yes

Comments: This page on rudehealth.com states that the product is gluten-free.

Califia Farms Original Almondmilk

Ingredients: Almondmilk (Water, Almonds), Pure Cane Sugar, Sunflower Lecithin, Sea Salt, Potassium Citrate, Natural Flavors, Locust Bean Gum, Gellan Gum

Gluten-free: Yes

Comments: The FAQs page on califiafarms.com states that their products are gluten-free.

Elmhurst Milked Almonds

Ingredients: Filtered Water, Almonds, Cane Sugar, Salt, Natural Flavors

Gluten-free: Yes

Comments: This page on elmhurst1925.com states that the product is gluten-free.

The New Barn Original Almondmilk

Ingredients: Organic Almondmilk (Water, Organic Almonds), Organic Maple Syrup, Organic Acacia Gum, Sea Salt

Gluten-free: Yes

Comments: This page on thenewbarn.com states that the product is gluten-free.